Mountain Buzz banner

I have a question about Cataract Canyon

4K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  wabisabimike 
#1 ·
Two buddies and I are doing a self support trip down Cataract and I'm relatively new to class IV and haven't had my boat loaded down before. I was wondering if the Bigdrop rapids are portageable and about how long it would take to hike them if they are. If it's any concern to anyone, I've run Waterton in a playboat during high water and Westwater during low water. I didn't swim at all in Waterton, but kinda got surfed and munched on Skull when I lost all of my momentum trying to sneak but then having to turn back for the meat. I did both of those in a playboat and am now running a pyranha burn that is rated up to 80 over what I weigh. Any thoughts? Are the Bigdrops portageable? Is there anything I should be concerned about? Thanks

#2 ·
Sounds like a great trip you guys are going to take. I have not run Cataract so I do not know how portagable the rapids are. But, if you run Waterton and Westwater in a playboat, you will probably be okay on Cataract.

Paddling a loaded boat is a little different than paddling an unloaded boat. Everything takes a bit more time to get somewhere and turn the boat because of the added weight. After the first few hours of just paddling you will start to get a feel for how it's going to handle. I would recommend taking a few practice rolls also to get a feel for how the boat is going to roll with the extra weight.

As far as the self support, pack light and try and keep everything in quality drybags. Especially your sleeping bag and food. Try not to have anything on the outside of your kayak because it makes rolling tougher.