Old 04-10-2005   #1
I don't understand

Has anyone tried to pass/press the public access issue to a waterway like several coastal community's have for beach access??? IE: public corridors thru private land. I am new to Colorado and do not understand how I can be told that I can not be allowed to get to the river???? I know that several states have the high water mark/public access laws that allow me to pass along/thru to a stream edge/beach to fish or boat, do we not have that here??? I understand the trespass laws that keep me from camping on private land but isn't access to a navagiable waterway overseen by the Federal Gov./Coast Guard under Navagation Laws???

rasdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005   #2
as i understand the only time you can legally go onto privte land in co. is to portage, and you will still probabally catch flack and possibily have to deal with the po. po. if the land owners are arses. I'm shure others know more about this topic.
Old 04-10-2005   #3
Charc in = charc out
Seattle, Washington
Paddling Since: 1992
There's nothing cut & dry about it. For some lengthy explanation that will help clarify check the link:
ToddG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005   #4
Dillon, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Welcome to Colorado

Welcome to Colorado....
"Believe me, my young friend, (said the water rat somlemnly), there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats. Simply messing...." -The Wind in the Willows
ZLSeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005   #5
Yea, welcome to Colorado. This ain't progressive California.

For one thing, kayaking doesn't have the political clout of people wanting beach access.

Be glad we have the rights we do have. And be careful of property owners waving guns who don't agree with the courts. I wouldn't try to antagonize them.
stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005   #6