Old 05-03-2011   #1
Teacher, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
High Water Closures, 2011 (was "The Poudre")

With all this high water talk I am starting to wonder what our legal right is to float the river if some law enforcement people try and shut her down. Any thoughts on this one?

Also I have paddled the Poudre from just below spencers to BTO in a day.. Anyone want to join me for a spencers to Fort Collins mission? I was also thinking about doing a spencers to Greeley overnighter...
Let me know if that sounds fun!

boof512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011   #2
Horserump, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1975
I'm not a lawyer but I'm pretty sure the sherriff can't shut it down. If he tried he'd get hit with a bunch of suits from the rafting companies. He maybe able to shut it off to tubers
In the 70's and 80's it was a common practice in Colorado to shut down the rivers every spring until one guy in Eagle decided to call the sherriff and tell him where he was taking out and to come on down and give him a ticket. The sherriff did and the guy took it to court and won.

yak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011   #3
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Good topic and good to get various managing agencies thinking about it ahead of time, not jut the poudre.

The city of Boulder shut down the creek sometime around '97. After being contacted by AW, I believe, they backed the close off to single chambered inflatables i.e. tubs a and walmaart rafts.

The real problem and reason law enforcement shouldn't close rivers at high water is that is then implies they are safe at whatever arbitrary level they decide to reopen them, and they could then be supposed liable for implying that anything is safe.

Usually commercial closures happen at a level that all the companies agree on, so they don't have to try to out do each other.

Patrick, how would you feel about your thread being re-titled to something more indicative of the subject?

(seven two 0)-298-2242