Old 04-10-2008   #1
Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 06
Grand Canyon Lottery BS!

So I have been applying for a few years and didn't even try for '09! I am seriously depresed and I don't mean to take away from the people from the dreaded waiting list, only I mean to make this point...

National Parks were created to thwart exploitation. They were the first areas to be set aside for non impact use (no mining, logging, development, etc.) What I see now is commercial exploitation, what's wierd is in the rafting instance relatively affordable and poorly managed Aramark is not the exploiter...rather a bunch of independants. I wonder how they get that opportunity?
Looking at the statistics
There were about 610 commercial launches in 07
There were about 460 non-comm launches in 07
Commercial travelers average about 20,000 people
Non comm travelers average about 6,500 people
There are typically about 3,000 people each year that apply for a non-commercial (small and large). I would say an untold amount, lets say another 3000 don't bother applying but would had they had a more than 1% chance of earning a trip.

Don't get me wrong, commercial trips have their place but understand that the parks are set up so that everyone has equal opportunity to enter, except rafters and kayakers in this case?

With an average of 14 people per non-comm trip, if my guesstimate of 6000 people (non-comm) had a fighting chance, ohh hell lets say 100% chance of winning a launch that would be about 84,000 river trippers. At 26,500 peeps they allow to go down the river a year that is about 4 years to clear all of the people that want to go out without paying a guide. That math says the lottery could be as much as a 25% chance if the commercial trips were mostly done away with or for the benefit of the commercial companies they could join the lottery..that may decrease the chances to 20%.