Old 06-30-2010   #1
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
Getting into kayaking

I'm new to kayaking and would like to get into whitewater kayaking. What would you suggest to get started? Also, what would be a good used whitewater kayak to invest in? Thanks.

coloradowater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010   #2
Great Falls, Montana
Paddling Since: 2005
1. Take a class if you can. If you're in college your school might have a program. At least find a local swimming pool that has open hours for kayakers (i.e. "pool session"). You can usually borrow/rent gear there and often learn how to roll from more experienced boaters.

2. Find a crew of trustworthy folks. I don't know what the scene is in Denver but the Pikes Peak Whitewater Club in C-Springs is friendly and runs several beginner trips a year.

3. Paddle generally within your abilities. If you're swimming (i.e. falling out of your boat) once in a while, most friendly boaters are pretty forgiving. If you're swimming constantly they'll stop inviting you on trips.

4. Be a pretty girl. People will be stoked to have you along.

deerfieldswimteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010   #3
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: '05
I am a super beginner, been kayaking for about two months. When I asked this same question of the buzzards many suggested that only by spending uber cash could I actually get into kayaking properly. Much was given to the idea that only newer boats will see me through beginnerdom in such a way that I would continue kayaking. So, I could save money all summer and winter and get into kayaking next season, or just buy the most affordable, jenky gear I could find on Craigslist and get out there. I did the latter. My boat is uncomfortable and out dated, my skirt is the wrong size, I don't have a dry top and can't roll. But I love kayaking. And maybe in a few years I'll get a super nice new boat. For now, I'm $200 lighter and newly addicted (and crampy and soar and wet).