Old 03-01-2004   #1
looking buisy

hello,i bought a house 2 years ago,and was deciding to sell,but now my morgager tells me that i owe 3000. on property tax.thinking about saying screw it,and not paying/foreclosing.can anyone give me some insite on what the bank will ask of me,or what can they do to me other than screw up my credit for seven years. the thought of it all has been really overwhelming,not sure what to do next,please help. [/quote]

marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004   #2

I'm not an expert, but I've screwed up my credit before. When they sell your house (after foreclosure) any balance will fall in your lap. That is, after the mortgage balance is paid, property tax paid, liens paid, and all of the foreclosure/realtor expenses are paid you will receive the balance, or the bill, for what is left. Bear in mind that these people do not try to get good money from your investment. So, you may well (after only two years) still be getting a bill for a house you no longer even live in. I think you would be far better off if you steer your own ship and sell the place yourself. Watch out for realtor fees.

If you have equity, you might be able to get a second mortgage. If you have been mistreating your credit already, don't give up. There are creditors who will take risks. Check with Beneficial Finance, for one.