Old 03-27-2009   #1
Reston, Virginia
Paddling Since: 1969
Easy Canoe Recommendations & Rental Options

Hi all,

This is my first post on Mountain Buzz and I haven't paddled in Colorado in a few years but I spent several summers open boating all over the state - mostly class III/IV stuff.

I'm going to be taking over home schooling my 14 year old nephew for the first two weeks of April in Vail. He is currently reading a book about a boy that goes on a long canoe voyage. I would like to take him tandem canoeing on a real easy river (class I/II-) and am looking for options.

I consider myself an expert in a tandem canoe - I'm an ACA whitewater tandem instructor, for several years I took home a bunch of hardware from the Whitewater Open Canoe Slalom National Championships paddling tandem & solo, and once even paddled the Upper Gauley in a tandem boat. I will need to find a canoe to rent and it would be great if I found someone who would like to spend an afternoon out on the river with us. Where can I rent a canoe? As for rivers - I was thinking of the Glenwood Canyon from No Name to Glenwood. It has been so long since I've done that stretch that I can't remember if it would be appropriate. Are there sections of the Eagle, Ark, or Roaring Fork that anyone would recommend?

Am I crazy to be thinking of paddling this time of year? I'm not looking for a long paddle, 3 - 5 miles to give my nephew a taste of what it is like to be in a canoe.

Any information is greatly appreciate.

__________________ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009   #2
Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Its been a while since I floated the Glenwood section you mention but I think that would work. Maybe even grizzly creek rest area down as well, right below shoshonee. Also consider the Upper C right by you if there is enough flow.

I think rental might be tough, only kayak shops there I can think of are Alpine Kayak and Mountain Quest Sports, this is an outdated list but might help: