Forums
Flows
Snow
Swap
Photos
Events Links Contact




Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Boater's Forum

Quick Links
Buzz Forums
Home / Portal
Forum Listings
Safety Alerts!
Boater's Forum
Betty Buzz
Trip Planner
The Eddy

Photo Gallery
Creeking
Rodeo & Freestyle
Snow Riding
Member's Albums
Upload Photos
Classified Ads
Whitewater Kayaks
Kayak Accessories
Rafts/Accessories
Other Boats
Skiing & Boarding
Want Ads
Industry Jobs
Place an Ad



Sponsored Links


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2006   #1
danielle

Profile: 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
did anyone respond to the "shop closing" post?

A post showed up the other day about some shop closing down (they said it was their father's) and needing to get rid of a bunch of stuff from their garage. They listed a bunch of sea kayaks and a couple rafts at pretty cheap prices. The email to contact was foltin2213@aol.com.

Did anyone else reply to this? We did and exchanged a bunch of emails with someone about buying one of the rafts. Besides that I can't find the thread anymore here, the exchanges seem suspicious.

The person gave us only vague answers about the gear and would not give us a phone number to call, even after we said we would like to buy it. They insist that email is the only communication and that we should wire the money (western union) to them at an address in miami, florida. [Yes - I already know about the western union scam, hence the post here]. We have a friend in Miami and suggested that he go give them the money in person and take a look at the raft for us. The woman refused saying she didn't want to meet anyone off the internet.

Needless to say, we are backing out - I'm just wondering if anyone else responded and whether they had the same experience? We are just kind of wondering if we're being too paranoid or just wising up to another scam. And, how/why was the original post pulled - does someone already know about this.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #2
gh
 
gh's Avatar

Profile:  Colo Spgs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,105
Images: 2
Send a message via AIM to gh
I didnt but another gear swap item dissapeared from the boaters forum. Andy if you did this then thanks and nice work.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #3
bkp77

Profile:  Lakewood, Colorado
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 135
don't know about it but basically anyone wanting a wire transfer is a scammer in my view. there is no less secure way to do business for the buyer then a western union.

not to be a dick but the fact you are still wondering about whether it's a valid sale or not is a little scary.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #4
yojimbo

Profile: 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 50
I googled the email address listed and got many hits on sites listing boats for sale, scuba equipment for sale, Pilates equipment for sale, etc. Several had the same story, but some we "my father's shop" and some were "my grandfatehrs shop". Buyer beware.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #5
Jones

Profile: 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
I as well talked to this person, something Jones she said her name was, when giving me the address to send the western union to. Anyway, I offered to pay the paypal fees, and as expected she said no. When she said that the raft + frame+ cooler for $900 was a NRS 14' expedition series only used twice, a $4000 raft retail, I figured that it would be a scam but checked it out anyway. After emailing with her a little bit I said no and posted to the threads a scam warning. It turns out that she posted 2 different threads on the buzz, one of which was removed, the other can be seen at

http://mountainbuzz.com/viewtopic.php?t=10116

I mapquested the address that she gave me and it was sitting on some railroad tracks across from a mall, which I thought was pretty funny. Hope nobody sent anymoney, but if you did, hope you get something for it. If it happens to be the 14' NRS, I'll gladly take it off your hands for you
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-12-2006   #6
danielle

Profile: 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
well...our story was an NRS scout brand new, different last name, and an address mapquest wouldn't even pick up. Husband in the hospital...

We're not really wondering so much if it's a scam as much as we hope no one else falls for it - they are pretty convincing. There's enough western union scam warnings to figure this out, but until that, it sounded legit. I tried asking a bunch of detailed questions, because something inside me just wanted to call them out on it.

What these folks probably didn't figure is that we have a pretty good "checks" system in our little community and hopefully, they are reading this thread and realizing that we're on to them, and maybe, they might feel a little low right now.

I hate scams.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-13-2006   #7
frenchy

Profile:  Fort Collins, Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 390
Images: 17
Danielle and all.. thanks for the heads up on the scam. These posts have since been removed. I hope nobody fell for it.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-13-2006   #8
danielle

Profile: 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
no to belabor this, but I found out that AOL has an address where you can report these types of email scammers. I sent them an email, can't imagine they will do much, but after also googling the address, it seems that a lot of people have already been scammed by this address.

Address is: TOSreport@aol.com.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-13-2006   #9
Smokey Carter

Profile: 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 309
Images: 10
Conversation on Kayakidaho about the same scammer---

http://www.kayakidaho.com/index.php?...;topicseen#new
  Reply w/Quote
Old 07-13-2006   #10
sandbagger

Profile: 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielle
hopefully, they are reading this thread and realizing that we're on to them, and maybe, they might feel a little low right now.
Glad nobody here fell for it, but there ain't no way they are feeling low just cause they got caught. They're scammers, if they don't feel low about taking people's money, they sure aren't going to feel low because a few faceless people on the net found them out. Unfortunately.
  Reply w/Quote
Post Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Topic Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JOIN "KATIE'S KREW" AND HELP SUPPORT KATIE HILLEKE bkp Boater's Forum 12 02-20-2007 05:31 PM
1st "Teaser" for "Hotel Charley... River of D thecraw Boater's Forum 4 02-09-2007 05:42 PM
"For sale", "want to buy" postings?????? weeMac Support & Feedback 1 08-12-2006 01:14 PM
lost paddle and helmet on the "Upper Mish" friday vayo con dios Lost & Found 0 05-30-2006 02:52 PM
Lost/Stolen Fluid Paddle "Whitman" Sticker kalancp Lost & Found 0 07-17-2005 08:25 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Yoga Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - U2 Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0



eXTReMe Tracker