Old 05-04-2012   #1
Silverthorne, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Deso/ Gray Trip May 8th

I'm getting ready to run deso next week and i've never done it before. I'm super stoked and can't wait for it. I was looking for any info that might be helpful. I've got all the required stuff, bug spray included, but was wondering what everyone else does/brings on this trip that might be out of the ordinary. Also any side hikes, etc to not miss? we're planning on hiking most days but maybe there are some hidden gems that aren't talked about much? I've heard the "space cube" is sweet but can't really find info on where it is. Also what are the rapids going to look like in the 6-10,000 range. Based on the gauge and temps I believe that's the range it will be in.
Thanks a bunch!

powrider686 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012   #2
cedar city, Utah
Pleasant flow for Deso.

Flat canyon petroglyphs are definitely worth seeing. Some folks really enjoy the firewater cabin. Rock Creek ranch is impressive. Wildflowers should be going crazy.

Bring rain gear! May in Deso can go from hot to downright cold in a minutes notice. We have had to treat people for the early stages of hypothermia twice on May trips. A good rain/shade tarp is essential.

Tons of catfish if you like to fish. Great for blackened fish tacos. They are small buggers but plenty of them (doing the natives a favor).

Left side permit opens up a lot of hiking and camping opportunities that are technically closed. Well worth the extra $30.

Have a great trip.

restrac2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012   #3
Gardnerville, Nevada
Paddling Since: 00
Hey powrider, just off Deso a week ago. No bugs to worry about then, but bring the deet anyway, the skeeters can be murder.