Old 07-20-2005   #1
Crystal Gorge?

Has anybody been in the crystal gorge lately? A few of us are going to be in the area this weekend and would like to run it. Is the flow good? Is there any wood? Any info would be helpful.

IDwink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #2
dropzone, Colorado
i am no expert, but i don't think people run it much over 500cfs (and that would be really high). when the gauge dropped out yesterday, it looks like it was around 670. could be too big. see:

ACC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #3
Laramie, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1992
The one time I did it the flow was 300cfs and it was too high to do the inner gorge, but the upper gorge was great at that level, all 300 yards of it.
badkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #4
placerville, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
we did the upper part at 400 one time and a few guys went into the lower; and there was trouble. i think that was one of the highest runs through the lower, but i could be wrong.
steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #5
crested butte, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
Send a message via Yahoo to milo
....years ago i heard that my buddy, robby dastin ran it solo at 600...he said it was "white knuckler"......robby is a true sicko and understates everything...i am sure it was worse than he said!!!...
milo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #6
My first time in the Inner, it was @ 320.... definitely do-able and definitely scary for me at the ability level I was at... but all was good.

Next time in the Inner was @150...definitely low for the upper gorge, fun all around, pretty mellow in the inner except for perfect piton (dont think that one is really ever mellow).

Waiting till its below 400 would probabl be a good idea if its your first time down. If you plan on doing the Ineer (it really makes the trip) wait till its in the low 300's or below.
Meng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005   #7