Old 05-22-2004   #1
Considering AIRE Lynx II

I'm sure you get 100 posts like this a week and are tired of them....So I want to appologize up front.

I am new to the sport, in-fact, I've only rented a few times but I really love the experience. I want to get a decent inflatable tandem boat, so I can take a buddy. I don't want to spend an insane amount of $$$ but I don't want a boat that's going to pop as soon as it I get it.

I've been looking and the Lynx II seems pretty decent. Would you guys recomend this boat or another? Also, who has the best prices?

jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004   #2
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
I don't know alot about inflatables, but Aire is a good company. I have an aire raft that performs and has held up well.

Shop around, but I bet NRS would be one of the cheapest places to buy.

Many local retailers can match NRS without incurring shipping fees. You might call Boulder outdoor center. 303-444-8420, they wont stock it but could probably get it pretty quick.

Careful you might get hooked and realize you need a hard shell.

Do you post as JEEPGUY on the TDR?

Dave Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004   #3
I'm not even sure what TDR is, so no I don't post as Jeepguy on it.

What are the advantages of a hardshell to an inflatable? I know an inflatable is smaller and easier to carry. Since I have a full size truck with only a 5.5" bed, I would have to get a trailer to carry a hard kayak.
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004   #4
I have an AIRE Lynx II. It is amazing how stable and fun they are. I got my son into the sport by taking him on rivers. Now my wife uses it to take the dog on rivers while my son and I have our own boats.

Ditto all above. The Lynx II is rock solid, high quality, and pricey. I couldn't find it discounted. The air floor is the way to go. The foam floor is for commercial outfitters that use trailers and keep their boats inflated.