Old 05-21-2004   #1
Complete Newbie to the sport and the area

I've come across this forum while searching for info about Colorado. I am a complete newbie to kayaking. We (wife and I) are contemplating a move to Colorado however. We are looking to move into the area around N. Colorado, probably somewhere between Boulder and Fort Collins.

A few complete newbie questions:

How much does it cost to enter into the sport? (Just the basics)

How difficult is it to learn?

How is the northern Colorado area for rivers? Will we be able to find some easy rivers in that area?

Milaazco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004   #2
The entry for gear into the sport will start at about $600/person and work its way up. That would be assuming you found used gear somewhere.

But don't go out and buy gear and then start kayaking. I went through one of the local kayak shops a few years ago and paid $300 for a 3 day lesson. It seemed kinda steep but they get you going at the right pace and with people in your skill level (no skills). They focus alot on how to read the river, which is the main difference I see with people who have taken the class versus people who haven't. Also, your classmates end up being great boating buddies.

A couple of the kayak shops around denver that I know do lessons are:

mountain miser
Boulder outdoor center
confluence kayaks
Rocky mountain adventures (Ft Collins)

Good luck.

yarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004   #3
Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1985