Old 04-23-2012   #1
Seattle, Washington
Paddling Since: 2012
cat anchor questions

Hi all - noob here so bear with me.
For a little perspective on where I am coming from. I am a steelhead & salmon fisherman with a little new-to-me 10' Bad Cat. I am not nearly as hard core as most of you, all the water I run is class III or less.

Does position of the anchor matter? Right now my anchor is mounted off the back/center of the frame (about 16” behind my seat). I was wondering about moving it either forward or attaching an nrs bar on the back to move it further back. How does the cat react to an anchor deployed from the middle of a cat (directly under my seat) as opposed to the rear? I found I like being able to anchor up (in slower water), stand on the deck and fish as the height gives me great advantage for site fishing and casting accuracy so I am wondering if different anchor position would be better suited for this (reduced boat action in the current, better ”sticking” of the anchor). On the other hand I am trying to keep the weight centered and having the anchor directly under my chair would help in that aspect. My guess is that having the anchor in the center would create a lot more movement than anchoring from the rear, but would it be better the farther back you go?

Does anyone make an anchor foot release mechanism? I do a lot of bobber dogging (float & jig fishing while traveling downstream). When I hook up I have to set the hook, throw the rod in the holder, row like heck to anchor-able water, drop the anchor, grab the pole & fight the fish. Right now I have a ratchet pulley down by my foot that I have to lean over, press & hold the little lever on to release line. Being able to drop anchor with my foot would make that process more efficient and less cumbersome.

gringo pescador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012   #2
portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1991