Old 09-07-2004   #1
Bend, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1993
Car loading help

OK, I am male and asking for help in how to pack a car- this should be proof of my level of desperation. I''ve loaded 15 kayaks in my little Ranger before but now I have a problem. I'm a teacher and taking 13 kids up to Montana to canoe. I will be renting a minivan and a Suburban to do so and need to load 7 canoes and one touring kayak on the roofs (rooves?). I will not know if there are factory racks on the vehicles until the morning I get them. Does anyone have any suggestions for rack systems that might work? I actually have a trailer but cannot legally tow it with the rental vehicle.

MikeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004   #2
Preacher of the Profit Paddling Since: 1990

Ok, here's what I would say. Try to rent a canoe trailer from the place your renting the canoes. Or, rent a flat trailer from a rental center.

If you can not do that than here is one last option: Make sure the rental cars, vans, or trucks your renting have a factory roof rack. Then bring pair of six foot 2x4's, and straps to attach those to the factory rack. Instant cross bars. Strap on canoes and go. If you don't want to take the boards with you, just stop by a hardware store after you pick up the rental cars.

I love to dance, but who needs the music- It throws me off.
Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004   #3
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
No towing with rentals

As mike said, it is damn near impossible to rent a vehicle that allows towing. If you are willing to overlook their regs, you could probably find something that at least has a bumper with a hole in it to add a ball. Most pick ups and vans come that way even if they are not equipped with a reciever hitch.