Old 01-23-2015   #1
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
Buying a New Boat Help?

I am a beginner/ intermediate paddler on whitewater (started 2 seasons ago). I had a Dagger Gtx but unfortunately I was too hard on her (some gnarly class IV swims) and now she's down for the count. I've been looking at buying a new boat, and it has come to my attention that a friend of mine is selling his Pyrannha Ammo for $450. Question is, is this a good boat for an intermediate river runner? I do mostly whitewater (class II-IV, but would love a V in the future) and don't really do much playboating. I was looking around for a creek boat, but I don't have the money to spend on one right now. Thoughts? Opinions?

The boat is in great shape, and 3 years old.

Malynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015   #2
Steamboat, Colorado
I was super duper interested in getting an Ammo- it looks like a super duper fun boat... I'd probably still get one if I had the money and the opportunity to get one... but the timing was wrong and I ended up getting a Burn that I think I'll enjoy just as much.
That being said, I haven't actually paddled either yet.

It's a good day to be a duck....
soggy_tortillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015   #3
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2014
I would check out a LL remix or a Dagger mamba
jjeco5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015   #4
Enfield, New Hampshire
Paddling Since: 1990
The above poster said it. Either of those would be miles better than an ammo.
JIMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015   #5
Salida, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
I looked at getting an Ammo once too. Tried it out, but it just didn't really feel right. It's not a playboat and yet I didn't find it stable at all. I'd think that $450 would be a little pricy for that boat unless you got a paddle and all the gear that came with it too. But that's just me, I know several folks who have liked them.
Please take a look at my Photo Web Gallery.