Forums
Flows
Snow
Swap
Photos
Events Links Contact




Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Boater's Forum

Quick Links
Buzz Forums
Home / Portal
Forum Listings
Safety Alerts!
Boater's Forum
Betty Buzz
Trip Planner
The Eddy

Photo Gallery
Creeking
Rodeo & Freestyle
Snow Riding
Member's Albums
Upload Photos
Classified Ads
Whitewater Kayaks
Kayak Accessories
Rafts/Accessories
Other Boats
Skiing & Boarding
Want Ads
Industry Jobs
Place an Ad



Sponsored Links


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2005   #1
thecraw
 
thecraw's Avatar

Profile:  Boulder, Jackson Kayak, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 669
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to thecraw
BEWARE... of anyemails from paypal...

Just got a fake one sent to me that was really good. It tells you that someone has been trying to log onto your account and then has a link to click that goes to a login page. It's the exact page that exist on paypal and I must say is an amazing copy.

The thing that tipped me off, was the that there was no "lock" icon ensuring an SSL connection.

I just got off the ph with Paypal and they said it was going around.
__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather...To skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming... WOW !!!! What a ride!!!!!!"
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-11-2005   #2
stiff

Profile: 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 89
Images: 1
The other key clue that it is fake is that the address it directs you to isn't paypal.com, as the e-mail probably says. You've got to look at the address on your browser.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-11-2005   #3
thecraw
 
thecraw's Avatar

Profile:  Boulder, Jackson Kayak, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 669
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to thecraw
That's not true in this case Stiff... that's what made it sooo good. The page was a paypal page, but lacked the "lock" icon for ssl.

very interesting as to how good this one was.
__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather...To skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming... WOW !!!! What a ride!!!!!!"
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-11-2005   #4
Jiberish

Profile:  Bum
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 408
Images: 28
Send a message via MSN to Jiberish
also paypal will always email you, and will contact you by your last name:

IE:: Mr guska

I had one a while ago and called them up. The thing sure did look good, i was pretty surprised.
Ben
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-11-2005   #5
Dave Frank

Profile:  Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 910
I've had several from "banks" in the last week. They try to get you to enter info to activate a debit card ( at a bank I don't do business with). Is there a govt. agency that these scams should be forwarded to?

I too noticed the lack of the padlock icon for security.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-11-2005   #6
yojimbo

Profile: 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 55
From the Paypal security webpage:

Report it. Forward the entire email - including the header information - or the site's URL to spoof@paypal.com We investigate every spoof reported. Please note that the automatic response you get from us may not address you by name.


This really works & they are fast. Forward them a suspicious email and they'll tell you if it's a scam. Chances are high that it is.

Also, you can help protect yourself by NOT clicking on the email link, but opening a blank browser page and directly typing in the bank or paypal or ebay.com address.
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-12-2005   #7
Tiggy

Profile: 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
I got a fake ebay and paypal. I had fun with the fake paypal by entering curse words and fake credit card numbers to take em for a little ride.
Also,
look for the HTTPS opposed to HTTP when you log in, this is another good indicator, dont enter info through the link provided, thats how they get the info.
Tig
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-12-2005   #8
double-a-ron

Profile:  ski/kayak bum
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 455
Images: 2
I actually got an email that had this text....haha.....anyone have spam capabilities to flood this email address?

-aaron



Urgent and Confidential

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Good Day,

I am Barrister Ibajesu Franklin,a Solicitor. I am the Personal Attorney
to ENGR.BEN GWEHN ,who used to work with PANALPINA SHIPPING COMPANY in
Nigeria. On the 2nd of April 2001, my client,his wife And their three
children were involved in a car accident.All occupants of the vehicle
unfortunately lost thier lives.Since then I have made several enquiries
with his embassy to locate any of his extended relatives, this has also
Proved unsuccessful.After these several unsuccessful attempts, I
decided to trace his last name on the Internet, to locate any member of his
family but to no avail, hence I contacted you.

I have contacted you to assist in repartrating the money and property
left behind by my Late client before they get confisicated or declared
unserviceable by the bank where this huge deposits were lodged, the Bank
where the deceased had an account valued at about $7.150 million
dollars has issued me a notice to provide the next of kin or have the account
confisicated within the next twenty five official working days.

Since I have been unsuccesfull in locating any of his relatives for
over some years now I seek your consent to present you as the next of kin
of the deceased so that the proceeds of this account valued at $7.150
million dollars can be paid to you as his next of kin and then you and
me can share the money.65% to me and 30% to you,while 5% should be for
expenses or tax as
your government may require.

I have all necessary legal documents that can be used to back up any
claim we may make even the difference in names will not be a hitch. All I
require is your honest co-operation to enable us see this deal through.
I guarantee that this will be executed under a legitimate arrangement
that will protect you from any breach of the law.Please if you have
accepted in transacting this deal with me get in touch with me through my
secure E-mail: (esq_franklin1@yahoo.fr) indicating your
interest and readiness to assist me and also the necessary proceedings
to follow to get this fund transfered to your bank account.

Note,I will also assure you that this transaction is risk free as
everything is going to be handled legally

Thanks and God bless.

Ibajesu Franklin Esq

Note,it is important you reach me through my Secure Email address:
(esq_franklin1@yahoo.fr)
  Reply w/Quote
Old 04-12-2005   #9
cma

Profile:  Boulder
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 180
Holy %@&! 7 million? I hope you took advantage of it and did it..


I heard that most browsers can't decifer certain foreign language characters so they will just spit out a letter or some other symbol, that allows someone in Russia to come up with a domain name that will show up as www.paypal.com or whatever in the address bar when it is really directing you somewhere else.
  Reply w/Quote
Post Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Topic Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[b]BOAT SELLERS BEWARE[/b] grahamfrank15 Boater's Forum 7 04-04-2007 01:49 PM
Jerry thomas>tomjltd@yahoo.com: Beware of this gear scamm Driftwood Boater's Forum 3 08-15-2006 10:42 AM
Cascade/3rd Lime to Animas!!! awesome BUT, BEWARE!!! thecraw Boater's Forum 1 06-01-2004 02:44 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0



eXTReMe Tracker