Old 07-22-2005   #1
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Best Beginner Play Spot???

I'm a rookie , just wondering where the best play/practice spot is for a new paddler (in the Denver/Boulder/Golden area). Any inputs?

funkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #2
Denver confluence park. The waves aren't great until you get to 200 cfs, but it's a nice scene. The small waves, eddies, and small pools are good for beginner practice. Lot's of stuff you can do, even at low water. It's a good place to turn a pool roll to a combat roll.

Now that I said the magic words "Denver confluence park", stand back and watch the knee jerk comments begin.

cstork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #3
placerville, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
...just remember the antibiotics
steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Water level dependent...

Both Confluence and Golden are great to learn on. I have been learning myself at both places. I would recommend going to both and trying to play in as many features as you feel comfortable with. Each wave or hole will have different entrance and exit possibilities, different amounts of retentiveness etc. Playing around in as many different spots really helps build skills in my mind. I found that I could figure out one hole or wave, and then do nothing at the next until I got used to the new feature. The more features you try the better you will get. Just go and watch how other boaters enter the features and try to hang on for the ride. The bottom hole at confluence is probably the most forgiving as it ends up in a big pool that is swimmer friendly. If you swim at Golden, you sometimes have to chase your boat for a while as the current moves pretty quick. Also some of the holes at Golden have more turbulence below them than confluence.

Good luck!
deepsouthpaddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #5
Poison Slingin'