Old 04-21-2006   #1
Englewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
Anyone else ever burn-out?

I feel like I'm burning out on boating. I've been boating for 27 years (took my first swim at age 6), and pretty intensely for the last 7 years. Now I find I have zero motivation once I get to the river. I don't think it's a fear issue, because I'm bailing on running rivers that I know cold and have never been beat down on. But I really don't want to paddle once I get there. It's really frustrating. Especially with runoff on the way.

I've known a couple of amazing boaters from the SE who just lost all motivation and gave it up, some for years, some permanently. Anyone else have a similar experience? What did you do?

Join up, suckas.

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid."
- Soren Kierkegaard
Caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006   #2
Sudbury, Ontario
Paddling Since: 1998
Buy a new boat! Or, change style kayak to c1 or canoe. A day on the river is always a good day.

tdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006   #3
pnw, Washington
take a break, maybe even a summer and ride your mountain bike. dont do it if it dont feel good.
gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006   #4
Eagle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
Hey man,

Sorry to hear that you're feeling this way. I spent quit a bit of time racing and competing in freestyle when I was younger. I paddled on the water.. hmm.. 250+ days/year for atleast 4 years. One day I just decided to do something else.

I took 2 years off from boating (I would go every now and then.. maybe twice/year). I don't really regret taking that time off but, I wish that I would have just taken a step back from competing and just had a few days on the river for some soul boating.