Old 06-18-2012   #1
Bend, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1975
Any fishing on Deso?

Putting in on Sunday. One of the folks from Oregon is wondering if there is anything to fish for on Deso. Anybody ever had any luck on the Green?

Aerocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012   #2
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2009
At mile 54 there is Rock creek, supposed to have great fly fishing. I've tried it twice and had no luck, but I'm a rank amateur at fly fishin. The main river most likely only has cat fish?
Good luck

dhub is offline   Reply With Quote
lafayette, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1961
cat fish, suckers main channel, rock creek not really worth the effort. I would not waste the cost of a license and I love to fish. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Catfish and suckers for sure, some carp. Check the regs and see if you even need a fishing license for those. Some states do not require a license for non-game fish.
Preston H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012   #5
Lewistown, middle of MT
Paddling Since: 1982
The catfish fishing was actually quite fun. I think there was a limit to how many you are supposed to eat, but we just put them all back. It's so fun so see their little whiskers come up when there's something in the water. The kids had a blast fishing for them, but have pliers so you don't hurt yourself getting them off.
If you lean over to watch the river slipping slowly away beneath you, you will suddenly know everything there is to be known. Winnie the Pooh
mtriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012   #6
Grand Junction, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978