Old 09-08-2008   #1
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 02
Another Upper C?

I am just looking to get the boat back on the water before the season is over. I'm still fairly new to CO and have read all the threads I could on the UpperC but have a couple extra. Is it possible to launch at Pumphouse at about 3 tomorrow, overnight somewhere, go fishing, take-out at radium or Rancho DelRio, and then ride a bike back up to get the car? Is there a road or trail that I can ride on to get back up to Pumphouse? Is there a better stretch to do with that in mind? How safe would it be to leave a boat for that long while I ride back to the car? From everything I read it looks like this is a pretty easy stretch for an intermediate boater in a 14' Cat.

Geoff773 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008   #2
Yes, yes, yes, take out at del rancho (not much camping above radium), questionable on leaving the boat. Bring the cross bike. Or do it on a weekend and hitch a shuttle.

mbannister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008   #3
Eagle County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
I agree too. Easy stretch, good fishing/camping, dirt road you could bike or hitch hike. Would rather not leave a boat unattended there, but maybe you could figure something out, or ask/pay someone to keep an eye on it for you.

Rancho runs a shuttle service as well, but not sure how it works.

P.S. Try Colorado River Guides too, you might be able to pay someone there to shuttle you or your vehicle.
It takes a big man to cry...It takes an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

-Jack Handy
WhiteLightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008   #4
Edwards, Colorado
Nice camp spot called Cabin a bit below the hot springs river right. Cottonwood river left just below that. Trains will rattle you awake. Rancho shuttle has been flawless for me all summer and for $30 it beats the risk of leaving your boat and gear exposed. Oars and other gear have gone missing from Pumphouse and Raduim this summer.