Mountain Buzz banner

#1 on your list.

8K views 46 replies 31 participants last post by  lotsawater 
#1 ·
Every year about now I think of the #1 new section of whitewater in Colrado that I hope to run.

For a couple of years now my "#1" has been the inner gorge of the Crystal. This year I hope to get her done!

So what is is your #1 new section that you would like to run this year?

#16 ·
bakers box, crystal gorge, poudre narrows(middle/lower), cheesman, lots of gore, a little more black canyon, upper A prolly once depending on how the flows are.. nevermind the original question, im gettin stoked just thinking about all the possibilities

#17 ·
I said it last year and failed... miserably, but I have yet to do one single run in the entire crystal/Roaring fork drainage!

Blows my mind that I have been paddling for 8 years in Colorado and never once. NF of the Crystal is where I have my eyes set first, then the gorge. Probably going to avoid the inner though.

Also, the embudo is HIGH on the list and will be done early on here.

Great topic!!!

Stoked.

Craw

#18 ·
Brazos and Crystal Gorge

Life is overly busy for me, but if I were to get some saddle time in on the Embudo, Pueblo, and UTB soon, then I have the possible connection for getting on the Brazos this year. And if I could get a lap or two on OBJ then I'd like to maybe notch the Crystal Gorge. Ran Mill Falls at really high water once, but the Gorge was obviously not conceivable then.

Harvey, I'm pretty certain you could count on a Black trip with us once or twice this summer if you'd like to join Horton, Shane Smith and I. July is a great time, hot and high, but I want to experience it low once too. I think it was 1500 when I've done it before, which was a great level. I definitely think a two or three day trip is the Dr's orders for my brain (though the body whines WFO).